Antiphon: A Journal for Liturgical Renewal (ISSN 1543-9925) is published three times annually by The Catholic University of America Press and serves both the members of the Society and the Catholic Church in Anglophone countries.

For access to articles since 2013, you may visit Project MUSE

For articles before 2013, please contact Timothy P. O’Malley, Ph.D. ( 


Members of the Society for Catholic Liturgy receive Antiphon with their membership. If you are a member of the Society and are not receiving Antiphon, be sure that your dues are current (email the Treasurer at, and be sure the treasurer has your current mailing address.

For non-members, a subscription to the journal can be ordered online here.

Single issues can be ordered by email at or by phone at 800-548-1784or 410-516-6987.

Article Submissions

Submissions of articles to Antiphonare welcome from members of the Society and from non-members. Authors must format their submissions according to the Guidelines of Holy Apostles College and Seminary, which have been developed by Dr. Daniel Van Slyke from the earlier Antiphon guidelines.

Book reviews should be sent directly to the Book Review Editor. All other submissions should be sent to the Editorial Office ( Submissions that have been previously published in English will not be considered for publication. Accepted articles will be posted on the “Antiphon” page of the website two years after the date of the volume number, unless the author expressly withholds his or her permission for this.

Book and Music Reviews

All inquiries regarding Book and Music Reviews should be directed to the Book Review Editor ( Publishers are also invited to submit books and music recordings to this address for inclusion in the “Books Received” section of Antiphon and for possible reviews in the journal.

Editorial Advisory Board of Antiphon

Rev. Uwe Michael Lang, C.O., D.Phil., Editor
Rev. James Bradley, J.C.D., Book Review Editor
Rev. Dieter Böhler, S.J., S.S.L., Dr. theol.
Stephen Bullivant, D.Phil. 
Robert Fastiggi, Ph.D.
Rev. Dominic M. Langevin, O.P., S.T.D.
William P. Mahrt, Ph.D.
Daniel G. Van Slyke, S.T.L., Ph.D.